Home » Uncategorized » Dire Straits’ “In The Gallery”: An Indictment of Art as Commodity

Dire Straits’ “In The Gallery”: An Indictment of Art as Commodity

A great look into one of the more obscure (and one of my favourite) songs penned by Mark Knopfler for Dire Straits.

LeDrew's Muse

20121028230000!DS_Dire_StraitsAlmost exactly to this date twenty years ago in 1994, I was living in a shared house in an area of St. John’s called The Battery. I didn’t have much to call my own besides a guitar and a bed (I probably didn’t even own the bed). But in all my travels and moves in that era of my life, I did manage to hold onto one thing: my old Sansui stereo system. Given to me by my father, this old Japanese stereo emitted a warm, bassy response through a set of old laminate speakers. I had set these up on either side of my bed, and I would lie there for hours listening to my favourite albums. One record that received a lot of play on that Sansui stereo (which I still own) was Dire Straits’ debut. I must have listened to this album a hundred times in that…

View original post 1,635 more words

Leave a Reply

