Home » Band Stuff » Band Diary: London » 23/11/2010

23/11/2010

Having just remembered that I haven’t actually bothered to write about our previous trip to the museum, perhaps a few details would be helpful.

 

Lucy and I found out the hard way that it takes well over an hour to walk to the museum from our flat if you go the wrong way for a little while, and even longer if you stop to take photos of Battersea power station. We had to leave early for a variety of reasons, not least of all the time until closing and the prohibitive cost of food at the museum and so we had all made the decision to go back since we had only seen half of the exhibits.

 

Today we did precisely that, following an abortive attempt to do so yesterday. Time being our problem, we decided to rise early and catch the tube this time since it took so long to walk last time. Lucy and Tasman (either unable or unwilling to do this) remained in the apartment.

 

Tubes were so easy today. If the whole system just worked like it was supposed too, without them closing down for cleaning and etc. on days when I want to make long journeys they’d be a much better form of transport.

 

What to say about the museum? It’s brilliant, and quite big. Two things I definitely look for in a museum. Dinosaurs too. I won’t go into too much detail, but the dinosaur exhibit was really something, particularly compared to the museum at home. Not sure if that’s because the one at home is sub-par. I’d hate to think so as it’s all I’ll have when we get back. There was a superb animatronic Tyrannosaurus, but the highlight for me was the Baryonyx. He was always my special favourite.

 

Also, Tina had wanted to go and see the Wildlife photographer of the year exhibit and since we had a 2 for 1 voucher and since I also wanted to see it, we went to that. The catch was that you have to show proof of your train journey to London along with the voucher, which we didn’t have. Luckily I distracted the man at the door by asking some complicated questions about student card discounts. As in ‘Hey, do I get a discount because of my student card’. Classic.

Leave a Reply

