Home » Guitars » Installing a Floyd Rose on my white strat.

Installing a Floyd Rose on my white strat.

Image

The untouched tremolo system as originally installed

Recently the tremolo on my Squier Classic Vibe 50′s strat broke, so having already done some not insubstantial modding, I decided installing a Floyd Rose tremolo would be an easy task.

Having removed the stock bridge, comparing the size and weight made me realise how much extra work it was going to be than I expected, but I decided to forge ahead anyway.

Image

Image

Tremolo removed

After removing the bridge, the first step is clearing a gap in the pickguard large enough to accommodate the mounting pins. This is fairly easily accomplished with a sander and chisel.

Once this is done, the extra holes to mount the pins must be drilled, and the pins installed. The hole for the inertia bar may need to be expanded somewhat.

Image

Space cleared for new mount, the two holes on the very outside are guide holes to drill for the mounting pins.

Image

The new mount installed

With the work at this end accomplished, the locking nut now needs to be installed at the headstock. Again, with a simple sander and file, it was fairly easy to achieve a smooth, flat mount.

Image

The original nut

Image

Sanded and filed to fit the locking nut.

The new nut then simply screws in.

Image

The Floyd Rose tremolo is much taller than the original Squier tremolo, so if you are mounting it on top rather than routing a hole in the body, you will need to do something to avoid unplayable action. I decided to try using a neck shim made from fiberboard. This still leaves quite a high action, but will do until I decide to take everything apart again and sink the bridge, a neater option.

Image

Image

Job done!

3 thoughts on “Installing a Floyd Rose on my white strat.

  1. I’m seriously thinking of doing the exact same thing with the headstock. My only concern is does the truss rod nut still fit underneath the new nut? My current one is the bullet style nut.

    • It does, but it’s cutting it fine. It may be different on a guitar with different specs. I certainly wouldn’t recommend it if your truss rod adjusts at the headstock end.

      • Thanks for the reply, I couldn’t help trying it so I routed out the top behind the original nut, however with the bullet style nut it does raise the locking nut, can’t find a 1 11/16 locking nut with the recess already in it, so I think I’ll have to either modify the locking nut or shave down the OD of the truss rod nut.

Leave a Reply

